Digital Liberty RSS http://www.digitalliberty.net en-us admin_email This is the RSS Feed for Digital Liberty. The Future of Internet Governance http://www.digitalliberty.net/future-internet-governance-a308 On May 13th, the Subcommittee on Electronics and Technology of the House Energy and Commerce Committee held a hearing to discuss the future of internet governance.  IANA’s current contra... 2015-05-19 15:24:34 http://www.digitalliberty.net/future-internet-governance-a308 Susan Crawford on Net Neutrality Circa 2005 http://www.digitalliberty.net/susan-crawford-net-neutrality-circa-a307 Who is Susan Crawford?  One of the main proponents of Net Neutrality as it morphed into Public Utility regulation. Susan Crawford 2005: We seem to be limited in our imagination.&nb... 2015-05-12 17:44:27 http://www.digitalliberty.net/susan-crawford-net-neutrality-circa-a307 Congress Fighting to Stop Government Regulation of the Internet http://www.digitalliberty.net/congress-fighting-stop-government-regulation-internet-a306 The fight to ensure net freedom has begun on Capitol Hill.  Several lawmakers have introduced legislation that would overturn and defund the reclassification of the Internet at as a public uti... 2015-05-08 14:28:02 http://www.digitalliberty.net/congress-fighting-stop-government-regulation-internet-a306 Digital Liberty Supports the LEADs Act http://www.digitalliberty.net/digital-liberty-supports-leads-act-a304 Digital Liberty, along with 8 organizations signed onto a letter in support of The Law Enforcement Access to Data Stored Abroad (LEADS) Act.  This legislation would protect the privacy of Amer... 2015-05-05 17:46:54 http://www.digitalliberty.net/digital-liberty-supports-leads-act-a304 Prince George County Wireless Bills are Going Up http://www.digitalliberty.net/prince-george-county-wireless-bills-up-a303 Residents of Prince George’s County could be facing a 50% increase in their Telecommunications Tax.  County Executive Rushern Baker’s proposed budget would inflate residents’... http://www.digitalliberty.net/prince-george-county-wireless-bills-up-a303 Copyright Office Stuck in the Past http://www.digitalliberty.net/copyright-office-stuck-past-a301 In the United States, the copyright industry grew 3.9 percent from 2009 to 2013, which is 70 percent faster than the overall economy.   You would think a country whose copyright industrie... http://www.digitalliberty.net/copyright-office-stuck-past-a301 Justice Kennedy wants to raise your taxes http://www.digitalliberty.net/justice-kennedy-wants-raise-taxes-a299 Justice Kennedy used a Supreme Court ruling that limits states ability to tax beyond their borders to say that he think states should have taxing authority as broad as the Internet.  &nbsp... 2015-03-19 11:34:41 http://www.digitalliberty.net/justice-kennedy-wants-raise-taxes-a299